UNPARALLELED 2 MONTHS @ IIST !!

As, the cool evening breeze rustled through the leaves, there was a thrill for a new experience which was about to begin and also a fear of the unknown which was to come my way.

Finally, came the dawn of 29 May, 2014, when a new chapter was added to THE DIARY of MY LIFE. It all began when I got a confirmatory mail from the  INDIAN INSTITUTE OF SPACE SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY to work as a summer research intern, at,  this one of its kind of space institute for a period of two months.

In the Department of Avionics; under the guidance of Dr Deepak Mishra, the internship provided me with a platform to learn, innovate and explore into the field of computer graphics and computer vision.

Here, I was to work on a project that constituted the study and implementation of  various techniques of model rendering. So, I began by studying a purely geometric reconstruction of the real world for which I used 3-D max studio and later; went on to add animations and gesture recognition methods. Hence, successfully  creating a desktop reality; using the Vizard platform and 5dt-dataglove.

After, geometric modelling the task was to use silhouette-aware warping for image based rendering; to model the real world elements from a given pair of stereoscopic images . So I started with extracting the camera parameters via calibration; went further on to calculate depth map to reduce the disparity and recreated the real world object.

After many discussions and brainstorming sessions with my guide; I was able to render a model from the stereoscopic images onto the desktop, though there were certain occlusions in the image created, it was indeed more realistic obverse to  the geometric model.

 

 

Leave a comment